Get Ready to Rub One Down: The 411 on Female Masturbation

Molly Carter
7 min readJan 1, 2020

Some studies estimate that, in any given year, nearly 60% of women don’t masturbate. I can’t imagine a life without masturbation. I’ve masturbated as long as I can remember, at least starting in my early teens.

I read my first romance novel when I was in sixth grade. I would stay up late, reading with a flashlight. A few years later, I would sneak PlayGirl magazines and read the stories. I would get wet, touch myself, but hadn’t really realized there was more.

Then one day I read a story where a girl straddled a window while fingering herself (she was showing off for her sexy neighbor) and so I took my magazine from my bed, went to the bathroom, and straddled the side of tub.

And it rocked my world.

For the next decade or so, that was the only way I masturbated.

Then, in my early 20s, I was sharing a single-bathroom house with four other people and using the bathroom for masturbation was no longer an option. I then went on a mission to learn how to masturbate all over again. It took awhile, but I finally able to get myself off without having to use a vibrator and without having to “ride” something.

In my years writing about sex, I’ve come to realize that I wasn’t alone. Many women aren’t sure how to masturbate. They find one way that works for them and then they stick to that same routine, sometimes for years. While that’s all fine and good, I thought I’d offer a helpful hand on how to…

--

--

Molly Carter

I’m a professional writer and intimacy coach. Just out here in the world, helping people have more fun and experience more pleasure in life.