Who the Eff Are These Novices on Medium Trying to Coach Writers

Molly Carter
5 min readJun 13, 2021

You’re not a professional, stop offering advice. It’s not helping anybody.

Photo by Amelia Bartlett on Unsplash

For the majority of 2020, I was on hiatus from what I like to call “my pleasure writing.” It started when I enrolled in a writing masterclass, which led to me stop my non-professional writing (which, of course, included Medium). And then there was the whole worldwide pandemic thing that kind of overshadowed the rest of 2020.

I’ve just made my way back to the platform. So imagine my surprise when I found my feed filled with newbie writers, offering advice on how to “be a writer” after making $100 on Medium in one month. Or explaining what they learned after they earned $6.35 from one of their stories.

Photo by Josh Appel on Unsplash

That’s nothing but pennies.

Now, I don’t want to be mean. And judging people isn’t really my thing. I totally believe that if you write, you’re a writer. I was a writer long before I was able to put it on a business card and had to file a Schedule C.

But being a hobbyist and being a professional are two different things. Publishing your writing on the internet, especially on a…

--

--

Molly Carter

I’m a professional writer and intimacy coach. Just out here in the world, helping people have more fun and experience more pleasure in life.